top of page


Xscape is an American girl group from Atlanta, Georgia, formed in 1990 by Kandi Burruss, Tamera Coggins, Tameka "Tiny" Cottle, LaTocha Scott, and Tamika Scott. The following year, Coggins left the group and Xscape became a quartet. They were discovered by Jermaine Dupri who signed the group to his So So Def label. The group released their debut album Hummin' Comin' at 'Cha in 1993, which spawned two top-ten Billboard Hot 100 hits, "Just Kickin' It" and "Understanding". The album sold over one million copies in the United States, earning a platinum-certification by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). The group's second album Off the Hook was released in 1995, which became certified platinum in the United States. The album's first two singles "Feels So Good" and "Who Can I Run To" were both certified gold in the United States. Their third and final album Traces of My Lipstick was released in 1998, which earned a platinum certification in the United States. The group disbanded in 1999 to pursue solo projects and reformed in 2017. In early 2018, Burruss briefly departed from the group and the remaining members performed as Xscap3. Xscap3 released an extended play titled Here for It in March 2018. In late 2022, LaTocha Scott departed from the group to pursue her solo career, leaving Xscape to continue performing as a trio. Xscape has sold more than 9.8 million records in the United States, as of 2023. The group has scored a total of six top-ten Billboard Hot 100 songs.
bottom of page